The Biden administration announced that restrictions on travel known as the “14-Day Rules” will remain in effect, despite former President Trump’s decision to terminate some of them. These rules restrict entry by most non-U.S. citizens and non-Green Card holders from China, Iran, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Brazil and the 26 Schengen Zone countries.  While there are exemptions and national interest exceptions, these restrictions prevent travelers who have been in the named countries within 14 days prior to departure from entering the United States. On Saturday, January 30, 2021, South Africa will be added to the list of restricted countries due to the new strain of COVID discovered in that country. The new strain has not yet been discovered in the United States.

As of January 26, 2021, under CDC regulations, individuals who can travel to the United States will be required to provide proof of a negative COVID-19 test within three days of departure or documentation of recovery from COVID-19 before boarding flights. This requirement applies to all passengers over two years old flying to the United States from abroad, including U.S. citizens and Green Card holders. More than 120 countries have similar requirements. The White House confirmed that at this time there will not be any waivers for travelers coming from countries where testing is limited. The CDC also directs people to stay home for seven days upon return and get tested three-to-five days after return.

As a further preventive measure, mask-wearing will be required domestically at all airports, on commercial aircraft, trains, public maritime vessels, including ferries, and intercity bus services and on all federal properties.

Jackson Lewis will continue to follow these changes and provide updates as they become available.